Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Hey blogger buddies … yeah, it’s me, finally poking my head back in here after what feels like forever. A lot has happened in the last 6 months or so. I can’t believe its been that long … guess it’s time for a really long update! I will get back to reading/commenting on your blogs soon now that things are starting to settle down around here. I have no hope of catching up, but I can at least start visiting again. πŸ˜‰

I did get the office finished by July 1, but all the legal BS involved with setting up a business dragged on a bit longer than I’d hoped it would. I finally got all that behind me around the end of August. And the website creation (and tweaking) took a lot of time. We finally got all those up and running in early August. Then there was creating new batches of all the herbal goodies. I got most of it done before our summer vacation and finished the rest up after we got back so I technically wasn’t “all there” until the end of August. Ah well, at least it’s done!

I never really took that few weeks at the beginning to veg and straighten the house … there was just so much to do and I was chomping at the bit to get things moving. So I’m just now finally getting to the house. There’s a lot to do here and I really want to have everything done well before Thanksgiving so I don’t have extra stuff to worry about around the holidays. I’ve still got to get a marketing strategy in place but am delaying that a bit in favor of gaining some momentum on the home-front.

Phoebe and Samira are getting on fabulously and are a near constant source of entertainment here. Samira is definitely the “dominant” critter in the house … fortunately Phoebe is happy to be a sidekick and protector. And we’ve revised our estimate of Phoebe’s breed. She’s no where near as intense as either a Border Collie or a German Shepherd and I’d pretty much decided she just had a very sweet submissive personality. Anyway, hubby got to talking to someone on one of their daily walks and this fella asked if Phoebe was an English Shepherd since he’d had one who looked a lot like she does. I’d never heard of an English Shepherd so I did a little research and her personality makes so much more sense now. Both Border Collies and German Shepherds get their herding abilities from a (somewhat modified) prey drive but English Shepherds (also known as American Working Farm Collies) are unique because they accept other animals into their “pack”. They love “rules” and will enforce anything they see as a rule when the “boss” isn’t around so they’re perfect for watching after things when their humans aren’t around. Ahhh … now all the following me around and intently observing everything I did the first few months makes sense. And “correcting” Sami when she does something I don’t want her to do. Whenever Samira does something I don’t want, Phoebe runs over and nudges her to go somewhere else. I thought she was just butting in but in light of the breed info on the English Shepherds that whole thing makes much more sense now.

As far as getting along, the two are now best buddies and they have several play sessions each day. Samira loves to play hide-and-seek and Phoebe is happy to join in so at least once a day they chase each other around the house (yes, the cat chases the dog too) hiding and jumping out at each other. They also seem to draw emotional support from each other when we’re not in the house. Phoebe gets excited when Sami wants to go out back (I take her out on a leash) and even though she wants to play, if there’s a noise that startles Sami, Phoebe will stand on alert between Sami and the noise. It’s kind of funny … outside on her own Sami can be very timid but when Phoebe is there she’s this “bad ass jungle kitty”. If anyone is interested, I have some videos that we’ve taken of the two girls on You Tube here: Dragonfae’s Videos

Since we’d already had a two week vacation to Shasta planned prior to my departure from the corporate world, near the tail end of all the chaos of setting up the business stuff we escaped for a wonderfully relaxing trip. Both of the girls came with us and the poor kitty was very unhappy about the road trip … she really doesn’t like being in the truck and a 12 hour trip is a lot to ask of any young one regardless of species, especially when they don’t know where we’re going. Once she got used to the house we stay in (it is very different from our house acoustically … lots of echoes) she had a great time though. She loved being on the porch watching the birds and would get really excited when the deer would visit the yard. Phoebe enjoyed taking her walks with dad in the woods and made a number of new friends including several mules and a wolf-shepherd hybrid. She did really well with the deer too. It only took about 4 days to get her to understand that we didn’t want her to chase or play with the deer but to just sit and watch them. She’s such a smart girl! And Samira got to try and climb a tree. We don’t have any large trees around the house and she kept looking way up there to watch the birds. She only went up about 3 or 4 feet before she jumped back down but both hubby and I got a kick out of her attempt to climb up. Both girls were more relaxed on the trip home (they both know what “home” means) and were very happy to be back. As soon as we pulled into the driveway Samira wanted out of the truck … now!

Shortly after we got back from vacation it was time to celebrate grandbaby Aurora’s first birthday! Can you believe it’s been a year already? One of the advantages to not working regular hours is that I get to occasionally babysit when Darling Daughter has a job crop up last minute and I’m enjoying getting a few hours alone with her every couple of weeks. And I tell ya, her mama’s in trouble … this little one is smart. Since DD is an ASL (American Sign Language) interpreter, she’s been teaching Aurora to sign along with trying to talk. She’s already able to express herself through signing and will tell you if she’s hungry, sleepy, or if she needs to poop. And she’s been walking since she was 9 1/2 months old so she’s all over the place. I can’t wait until the holidays to get her over here with Samira and Phoebe … could be entertaining. πŸ™‚ She’s used to cats and dogs (they have 2 of each) but those in their home are all older so they don’t show a lot of interest in playing with her (though their biggest dog shadows her protectively).

And just because I didn’t already have enough going on, I’ve gotten a nudge to do some Reiki work with rescue animals. So I talked to the folks at the German Shepherd rescue we got Phoebe from and I’m spending about a half day a week working with some of the more anxious dogs that they’ve got to try and help them be more “personable” so they will be easier to adopt out. It breaks my heart that so many of these animals feel like they’ll never be happy. I do wish that the results were more immediate, but over time we hope that these poor babies will be calmer and less traumatized.

Holy cow … this was pretty long wasn’t it? So for now, just one last thing. If any of you are really bored, curious, or just inclined to do me a favor, I’d love it if you’d wander over to one or the other of my websites, take a peek, and let me know if you have any questions. I’m trying to flesh out the FAQ pages and am too close to the subject matter to think of some of the questions the average person might want answered. If you don’t want to leave them here, please send any questions to reiki@healingthrubalance.com (also let me know if you want an answer by email). The websites are here Dragonstone Herbals and here Healing Through Balance

Hope you all are doing well and your week is off to a great start. And take care traveling for the next few weeks … Mercury went retrograde Monday morning and I’ve noticed things are pretty tense right now.

Β© Copyright dragonfae 2013