Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Alrighty … I finally found a bit of time to squeeze out one more crystal post. πŸ™‚ This will be the sixth of my Using Crystals posts and since the big topics got covered in the earlier posts, this one will be a sort of “catch all” for the rest of the uses I’ve found for crystals.

Window hangers:

I didn’t know this when I first decided to hang some crystals in my windows and doorways, but there are some cultures (I know of a few Native American tribes for sure) that will use crystal helpers to keep negative energies from entering the living space by placing them in openings.

I use a small quartz point that has been drilled through so I can string it on a short bit of beading wire. On the same wire, I also string small pieces of turquoise and black tourmaline. The quartz can be programmed for a specific task and the turquoise and black tourmaline are both excellent at repelling negative energy. Once all three are strung on the wire, I make a loop at the free end and tie the wire (with the stones on it) to a curtain rod (or other handy feature) with a bit of ribbon. I have one of these hanging in every window and doorway in the house and they help to keep all the outside “gunk” out of the house.

Meditation:

There are a number of ways to meditate with crystals. The easiest is to just hold or sit with (or near) a crystal or two. Any stone can be a helper, but I find that either a stone to help calm the mind or one that helps to connect with other energies in the Universe are particularly beneficial in meditation.

They can be a fabulous scrying tool too … just staring into the crystal and getting lost in the internal fractures and planes allows the logical side of the brain to focus while letting the subconscious side have a chance to tell us more directly (at least more than it does with dreams) what we need to know.

You can also “interview” a crystal by sitting with it and asking it questions. No, they don’t really “talk” to us, but most people can glean impressions that feel like emotions that don’t belong to us. Even my hubby (who claims to be completely oblivious to any energies) can frequently get a “feel” for gender or age from a crystal. For those used to dealing with higher vibration energies, a vision or brief scenes from the crystal’s past may come through.

“Worry stones”:

These are small, flat stones that can be carried or just held. They usually have one surface that is slightly concave that’s perfect for rubbing with a thumb. As the name implies, when you’re stressed or worried you simply hold the stone and rub away to your heart’s content. It helps get rid of some excess energy and the contact with the stone is soothing.

Pets:

Crystal beads lend themselves perfectly to hanging on a pet’s collar … or even making a collar from them for your cat or dog. When Cindy was going through (and recuperating from) radiation therapy, I made her a “collar” of bloodstone, carnelian, and smoky quartz to help dissipate the effects of the radiation. Just as with people, the uses of crystals for pets is pretty much limitless and whether one or two crystals are hung from the collar or a whole collar is made, the animals benefit from the crystal energies just like we do.

Some animals are better than others at sitting or lying still for us (Cindy is not!) and those that will tolerate just hanging-out can be helped by sitting in the middle of a grid for short periods of time. They can also be fed a drop or two of a crystal elixir (but don’t use alcohol as a preservative if you intend to give it to a pet) either directly or in their food or water.

“Emergency Kit”:

On one of our trips up to Mt Shasta, I decided that I needed to set aside some crystals as an “Emergency Kit”. I have them in a craft box as it’s handy storage (and easy to grab) and take them with us when we travel since I don’t have access to all those I keep at home when we’re on vacation.

I chose the stones listed below because they pretty much cover a wide range of ailments and emotional issues. Most are pretty easy to find and all that is needed are one or two of the small tumbled pieces.

A small reference book, like Judy Hall’s “The Crystal Bible” to keep with it is helpful too.

  • Amegreen
  • Amethyst
  • Astrophylite
  • Azurite
  • Blue Aragonite
  • Blue Tiger Eye
  • Blue Pietersite
  • Bronzite
  • Carnelian
  • Celestite
  • Charoite
  • Citrine
  • Danburite
  • Dravite (Brown Tourmaline)
  • Dumortierite
  • Flourite
  • Garnet
  • Green Heulandite
  • Infinite
  • Kunzite
  • Labradorite
  • Larvikite
  • Magnesite
  • Melody’s Stone (aka Super 7)
  • Moldavite
  • Ocean Jasper
  • Obsidian
  • Pink Chalcedony
  • Prassiolite
  • Quantum Quatro Silica
  • Quartz (any … I have Tibetan in my kit)
  • Rainbow Moonstone
  • Red Tiger Eye
  • Snowflake Obsidian
  • Sodalite
  • Sphene
  • Stichtite
  • Sugilite
  • Sunstone
  • Tiger Eye (gold)
  • Turquoise

This will probably be my last post on using crystals since I’ve now pretty much talked about all the things I do with them. I’m still hoping to someday (and hopefully in the not too distant future) add to the list of crystals in the page I have at the top of my blog so I’ll keep working on that. πŸ˜‰

Β© Copyright dragonfae 2012