Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Christmas isn’t just a day, it’s a frame of mind.
Kris Kringle in Miracle on 34th Street

My new Santas are here!

Yes, I’m a huge fan of Santa. Five or six years ago I decided I needed some Santa figures to help decorate the house for Yule/Christmas. I did an online search for “Woodland Santa” and “Father Christmas” and stumbled upon the “Possible Dreams” line of Santa figures made by Clothtique. I quickly became addicted enamored and have acquired a few of them each year.

These fellas end up on our mantle, the top of the entertainment center, and the dining room table. I got a shot a couple of years ago of those on our mantle:

Our Mantle in December 2008

I found four new Santas this year. OK, there were more that I’d like to have, but these guys aren’t super cheap. πŸ™„ So I got the four I liked the best to add to my collection. If I’m remembering correctly, they will bring the total to 25.


“Endearing”

Who can resist a Santa carrying a little fawn? Certainly not me. πŸ™‚

I’m not sure if the clothing is supposed to represent a particular country or region, but the details on the coat and hat almost look Nordic to me.


“Della Robia Santa”

I fell in love with this one as soon as I saw it!

The fur edged, richly colored robe would have been reason enough for me to get it, but the evergreen and fruit trim is just so unusual that there was no way I was going to pass it up.

As the name implies, this Santa is made in the style of Rennaissance artist, Luca Della Robbia (15th century).


“Bells of Yore”

I love that this Santa is wearing a crown of holly instead of a hat or hood. I don’t know specifically why this appeals to me but it does.

I think he has a really neat vintage look about him. A little reminiscent of the Victorian era.


“The Newborn King”

Everything about this Santa says gentle, sweet, and peaceful to me. I think Santa would be the perfect baby-sitter. πŸ˜‰

It’s a bit hard to see in this image, but he has a teddy bear in his left hand.

And since I didn’t have anything like it yet, this was another that I had to get.

(all images are from http://possible-dreams.webs.com/)

My only problem now is going to be the waiting. I usually bring out all the Yule/Christmas decorations the day after Thanksgiving. But that’s a month off yet. I really like Halloween too, but the Yule/Christmas season is my favorite and now that my new Santas are here I’m wanting to get going with the winter decorating. πŸ˜€

Β© Copyright dragonfae 2011