Tags

, , , ,


I noticed that there were a good number of bloggers I follow that didn’t post about 9/11 yesterday. And I couldn’t do it either. Even though I don’t know anyone who was affected by that tragedy, it’s still too painful and it seems as if there are too many people dwelling on that pain. Milking it even. I mean no disrespect to anyone but I don’t see us as a country moving forward from this. The politicians are using it as an excuse to continue fear-mongering and chest thumping and too many of those in the “general public” seem to feed on tragedy.

Of course I remember where I was … I’d just gotten up and turned on the news just before the second plane hit. As my sleepy brain struggled to make sense of what I was seeing I was so overwhelmed with so many different emotions I literally became paralyzed. I wish I’d have known then what I know now.

In 2001 I didn’t know I was an empath. I don’t mean that as in I can be empathetic, or able to relate to others feelings or emotions. I mean a true empath, someone who can feel what others feel. For most of my life I’ve had random emotions affect me but if they didn’t make sense with regard to whatever was going on in my life I just brushed them off as nonsense and ignored them. Or tried to.

It wasn’t until several years later that I started to finally piece things together. When I decided to follow a Pagan path I started actively dealing with energies and paying more attention to what was going on in my head and body. As I got more adept in feeling different energies, including those from other people, I started recognizing that some of those “nonsensical” emotions were actually being projected from others and I was picking up on them. And I learned to shield so that I wasn’t so strongly affected by them.

Even so, when a large number of people are all projecting the same emotions, there isn’t a whole lot I can do to distance myself from it even a little. So I too stayed away from the news and remembrance programs on television and was grateful I had things to do that kept me off the computer for most of the day. It was bad enough just existing today … I didn’t need it all to come rushing back while reading an article or watching a news program.

I fervently hope that we as a country can get past this and start moving forward again. That we all realize that being fearful of others and intolerance of other cultures needs to stop. It’s encouraging that there are so many bloggers who do “get it” and I’m hopeful that we can literally change the world one person at a time.

© Copyright dragonfae 2011