, , , , ,

I figured it was time to do another installment in my crystal series. If you missed either of the earlier bits, I’ve added a new category “Using Crystals” to make them easier to find.

I’m guessing there may be a few people who aren’t familiar with chakras, so I’ll start out with as brief an explanation as I can about the 7 major chakras.

What is a Chakra?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that roughly translates to “wheel” in English. The concept of chakras is similar to the meridian system in Chinese medicine but instead of lines of energy running through the body, the chakras are energy centers that are aligned along the spine. This graphic shows the locations of the 7 major chakras:

Chakra Locations

The chakras aren’t a part of the physical body … they are connected to the energetic and emotional bodies (sometimes referred to as the “subtle bodies”). Like the Chinese meridian system, each chakra is associated with certain organs in the body. But they are also associated with particular emotional states and mental actions. And each chakra has a specific color associated with it. Below I’ve given a brief description of the chakras and their associations.

The Seven Major Chakras

Muladhara (Root Chakra) Muladhara … the Root Chakra … colored red. The root chakra sits below the base of the spine (near the tip of the coccyx). It is associated with the adrenal glands and immune system. This chakra keeps us grounded to the Earth and helps keep us stable (physically and emotionally). An overactive root chakra can manifest as greed or materialism … an underactive root chakra can cause fear or nervousness.
Swadhistnana (Sacral Chakra) Swadhistnana … the Sacral Chakra … colored orange. The sacral chakra is midway between the pelvic bone and navel. It is associated with the reproductive organs. This chakra affects the emotions and creativity. An overactive sacral chakra may lead to addictions or being overly emotional … an underactive sacral chakra can leave one apathetic or emotionally “numb”.
Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra) Manipura … the Solar Plexus Chakra … colored yellow. The solar plexus chakra is located near the physical solar plexus in the body. It is associated with the spleen and pancreas. This chakra deals with self-esteem and personal power. An overactive solar plexus chakra may be responsible for overly aggressive or domineering behavior … an underactive solar plexus chakra can result in poor self-esteem or overly timid behavior.
Anahata (Heart Chakra) Anahata … the Heart Chakra … colored green. The heart chakra is located near the heart and lungs in the center of the sternum. It is associated with the heart and thymus. This chakra deals with love and trust. An overactive heart chakra may result in clingy or smothering behavior toward others … an underactive heart chakra may cause cold or distant behavior toward others.
Vishuddha (Throat Chakra) Vishuddha … the Throat Chakra … colored light to medium blue. The throat chakra is located about midway up the neck. It is associated with the thyroid. This chakra affects truth in communicating. An overactive throat chakra can be responsible for talking too much without listening or dominating conversations or situations … an underactive throat chakra may result in a lack of communication. It should be noted that not speaking the truth can result in this chakra becoming blocked.
Ajna (Third-Eye Chakra) Ajna … the Third-Eye Chakra … colored dark blue or indigo. The third-eye chakra is located in the center of the forehead. It is associated with the pituitary gland. This chakra influences our insight and intuition. An overactive third-eye chakra can lead to spending too much time in fantasy worlds, nightmares, or even hallucinations … an underactive third-eye chakra may result in thinking that is too rigid, denial of reality, or confusion.
Sahasrara (Crown Chakra) Sahasrara … the Crown Chakra … colored purple or white. The crown chakra is located at the top of the head in the center. It is associated with the pineal gland. This chakra deals with wisdom and spiritual peace. An overactive crown chakra can result in too much intellectualizing or a mental detachment from the body or spirit … an underactive crown chakra can lead to spiritual apathy/uncertainty or excessive materialism.

If you aren’t used to feeling the different energies of the chakras associated with your body, I’ve found this online test to be fairly accurate: Chakra Test. You can even have the results emailed to your inbox. πŸ˜‰

How crystals can help us with our Chakras

While it’s possible to unblock and balance the chakras using only the mind or in combination with sound or yoga, I’ve found that crystal helpers speed the process up. Using tumbled or raw stones that correspond to either the color or function of the chakras, you can lie down and place one or more stones over each chakra. Feel the energy of each chakra, starting with the root and working your way up, one at a time, to the crown. The energy of the chakras is that of a spinning top or whirlpool. As each chakra is opened, the spin rate increases and stabilizes. I leave the stones in place until I’m done with all the chakras, then remove them starting with the crown.

I’ve noticed that keeping stones used as chakra helpers together as a set has the effect of synchronizing them. They get more harmonious and efficient at helping over time. I’ve actually got three different chakra stone sets and will grab whichever set “feels” appropriate for a particular session. I try to clear, open, and balance all my chakras on a regular basis (though life frequently intervenes) and find that when I do, I’m much happier and have more energy.

Β© Copyright dragonfae 2011