Tags

, , , ,


Since I had a little time on this long weekend I thought I’d work a little on my crystal posts … so here is #2. πŸ™‚
(If you missed it, #1 is here: The wonderful world of crystals!)

I’ve been making jewelry using crystals for about 5 years now. There are a lot of folks who make jewelry from crystals just because they are pretty, and while I love the way they look, that’s only a part of it for me. With a few exceptions, every piece I’ve made has a specific purpose. I just can’t seem to make stuff just to be pretty. Hell, I don’t even really pick the stones or the pattern … it just comes to me. After I’ve made something, I’ll look up the properties of the stones and chuckle. It used to freak me out a little that every time the stone properties are exactly what’s needed, but I’ve gotten over that. I just had to come to terms with the fact that I really can interpret the energies of the stones correctly.

A lot of what I’ve made was for myself. I wear multiple bracelets daily, though which bracelets I wear tends to change. I used to question that too but I just gave up. I think the day I quit questioning was the second day I didn’t feel a need to wear a garnet bracelet I made to deal with a particular person at work. Mr. Hyper can be a chore … I swear this guy will drive you nuts. He interrupts everyone during meetings, and even though he’s pretty good at his job, it’s impossible to have a conversation with him. He’s not doing it intentionally though … if you ask him to let you finish what you were saying he will, but with a look on his face similar to a 5 year old thinking “OK mom, I’ll let you finish but hurry up before I forget what I want to say” as they are bouncing in their seat. Anyway, I made this garnet bracelet to ground out the chaotic energy he brings into a room. And one Monday, a day that I had a meeting with him in the afternoon, I couldn’t put that bracelet on. I kept telling myself I needed it for that meeting, but felt really uncomfortable when I did put it on. So I left it home … and Mr. Hyper was out sick that day. Same thing the next day, couldn’t bring myself to put the bracelet on. Sure enough, Mr. Hyper was out again. No point in questioning stuff after that.

In addition to jewelry to wear, I make pieces to use in meditation … sort of like the Mala beads Buddhists use, but smaller. I’ve even made a crystal “collar” for Cindy to wear when we were helping her recover from her radiation treatments. Just so you all can see what I’m talking about, I’m including some pictures of a few things I’ve put together. The pics aren’t that great, but they give an idea of what one can do with the bead form of crystals. Most of the pieces I’ve made for others don’t seem to want their pictures on the internet, so all but one of these are my personal stuff.

First up … a set made with Citrine, Moonstone, and Lepidolite. It helps to balance the physical body and smooth out rapid mood changes. (really good for changing hormones πŸ˜‰ )

Citrine, Moonstone, and Lepidolite

I don’t always wear all the pieces from a set … sometimes just the earrings or bracelet. This set is Red Tiger Eye, Astrophylite, and Smoky Quartz and is awesome for grounding out excess or unwanted energies.

Red Tiger Eye, Astrophylite, and Smoky Quartz

Sometimes I need a little extra oomph to get through the day … these pieces with Iolite, Ruby, and Tanzanite are prefect to keep my mood upbeat all day.

Iolite, Ruby, and Tanzanite

On days when I am feeling a bit down, these pieces with Prassiolite (Green Amethyst) and Kunzite provide soothing heart energy. Sort of like a hug you can wear. πŸ™‚

Prassiolite and Kunzite

This bracelet was one I felt compelled to make for our vet. In addition to the Amethyst, Charoite, and Rutilated Quartz, I added little paw-print and Ginko leaf charms. The two Chinese characters mean “health” and “happiness”. The fairies insisted I add the ribbon. After I sent her the properties of the stones, Dr K later told me she’d been having headaches and trouble sleeping. She loves the bracelet, and so does her 2 year old daughter.

Amethyst, Charoite, and Rutilated Quartz

These next two are earrings I made that I wear pretty regularly (neither are part of a set). Both are excellent at grounding crazy or chaotic energies.
This pair is done with Adamantine, Black, and Rhodolite garnets.

Adamantine, Black, and Rhodolite Garnets

And this pair is Smoky Quartz and Silimanite.

Smoky Quartz and Sillimanite

This final picture is of a prayer chain I made up in Mt Shasta. I wanted to capture the peaceful energies of the area so I’d have something to help bring some peace when amidst the chaos at home. The Amethyst, Prassiolite, and Lotus Jasper were just perfect!

Amethyst, Prassiolite, and Lotus Jasper

Β© Copyright dragonfae 2011