Tags

, , , , , , ,


With all the “fun” we’ve had with Cindy lately, I’ve let myself get a little too run down. Add to that all the “fun” I’ve been having with hormones lately (let me tell ya … menopause sucks! sorry if that’s TMI) including mild insomnia, is it any wonder that I started feeling like I was coming down with something the last few days?

I have no time to be sick. Nope, not gonna happen. So last night, when the mild, dry cough started to escalate and the body aches started, I doubled up on the elderberry and zinc. I also decided to take some of the newest tincture I cooked up. I decided a couple of months ago that I needed to add a cough formula to the tinctures I already make and boy am I glad I did! It worked like a charm … I slept for over 10 hours last night without one single cough. πŸ˜€

For those who might be interested, I used marshmallow root, lungwort, and rosehips. I made this one a little stronger, partly because I’d intended to make a cough syrup out of it … I just never got the time to work on the syrup part. I may not bother with that since the tincture works fine though. We’ll see. Anyway, I used one tablespoon of each herb, 15 ounces of 100 proof vodka, and let it “cook” for about 5 weeks shaking the bottle once daily.

© Copyright dragonfae 2011