Tags

, , , , , ,


I’m posting this stuff mainly in an attempt to motivate myself to finish up the spring cleaning and do something other than the ever-present daily crap chores I need to take care of. πŸ™‚

The pictures here are from past craft projects I’ve done. A couple of them were projects my daughter and I did together.

First up, my first attempt at a Dream Catcher. I saw a triple one somewhere online and decided to try my hand at them and see if I could do something similar. The pic quality isn’t that great, and with the flash it doesn’t show all the details, but the hallway it’s hanging in is pretty dark.

First attempt at a Dream Catcher

I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out. I’ve embellished it with coral and mother of pearl beads, some silver seashell beads, and a small sand dollar.

Last year I got a bug up my rear over wanting a wreath for Ostara/Easter time. This is the result:

Flower and colored egg wreath

Not super, but I think it’s kind of cute.

A couple of years ago my daughter wanted to make a miniature Maypole as a decoration for Beltane (May Day). I thought it was a pretty cool idea so we went shopping to gather supplies, coerced hubby into cutting/drilling some wood for us, and had a blast building these:

Maypoles 2009

And finally, last year at the local Ren Faire we discovered that one of the vendors was set up for “classes” building fairy houses. She had all the materials there so all you had to do was pay her a small fee and sit and play. Pretty neat … the daughter and I spent almost two hours playing. πŸ™‚ Instead of “houses”, we opted for “playgrounds” since they were a little larger. We had such a blast! Hubby even managed to get a couple of shots of us (I hate having my picture taken … didn’t even notice when he took these).

Here’s me:

Building a Fairy Playground

And the daughter:

The kid having fun

Yes, we all go to the Faire in costume. πŸ˜€

What was really cool was how many people stopped us on our way out of the Faire to ask where we got the stuff we made. These last two pics are the “playgrounds” we made. Mine first, then the daughter’s.

My Fairy Playground

The kid's Fairy Playground

I’m pretty sure we will be stopping in there again this year. πŸ˜‰

OK, if nothing else I think I’m sufficiently motivated to change out my dining room table later … it’s still got the Yule/Christmas stuff on it. Yeah, I’m running a little late this year.

© Copyright dragonfae 2011