Tags

, , , ,


Oh we have so needed this! The last 6 months or so have pretty much been spent on autopilot … moving forward in a blind motion just trying to get to this point, where we could be alone and in solitude, finally relaxing.

It is now day 4 of our winter vacation and I’m finally starting to feel like “me” again. We took a “vacation” in July, but it was spent nursing a pup recovering from radiation treatments and a surgery due to a spider bite. She wasn’t feeling well at all, the meds made her feel worse, and I was in full “mom” mode, doing my best to help her recover as comfortably and quickly as possible. Wasn’t much of a vacation for me, especially with a 600 mile drive each way, but I knew I had to have her in Shasta to recover and she came out of all of it beautifully. I now refer to that week as my “not a vacation”.

So for our winter break (I get a week off of work) we came back up to Shasta for us (and mostly me) to get away from the negative energies in the LA area and to just “be”. I’m glad we did … it’s been a restful week full of the wonder of snow, the forest, and the mountain that dominates this land. I don’t know what exactly it is about Mt. Shasta, but she is a grand lady who has the energy of Mother Earth, compacted and distilled into it’s purest form … one cannot help but be at peace here.

A storm rolled through Tuesday evening bringing with it howling winds and snow. We probably didn’t get more than 3 or 4 inches of snow but the wind was spectacular … the house we are staying in shuddered with each massive gust leaving us wondering if it would remain standing. It was quite an experience since I’ve never been in anything quite like that before.

Tonight we are graced with clear skies and an awesome display of stars! All my old childhood friends … Orion, Sirius, the Seven Sisters, Hercules, Cassiopeia, and the Big and Little Dippers along with a glimpse of the Milky Way. In LA there is so much light pollution you can barely see any stars let alone full constellations. This so much reminds me of childhood nights in Arizona that I don’t even mind freezing my butt off in the frigid temperatures (it’s in the high 20’s right now and on it’s way down to the teens tonight).

After months of stress and chaos, I am finally relaxed and content. Cindy (the pup) has been in a wonderful mood all week and is currently squirming around on her back, all four feet in the air. Tomorrow we need to go into town again, but for now I’m happy pretending we’re snowed in and watching a movie with hubby. I’m even OK with being stuck with a dial-up connection for a week. 🙂

© Copyright dragonfae 2010